The Chase

I woke up high this morning,12.4. I’m not entirely sure what happened, but I have a feeling I must’ve gone low overnight and not woken up because at 2am I was 6.2. I was groggy when I woke up and had a bit of a headache, telltale signs that I could’ve been low and not woken up. I had my usual breakfast and bolused accordingly, but by lunch I was 10. Not great. I corrected, bolused for lunch and ended up at 17.8 where I have remained for the last 5 hours. I’ve replaced my cannula, bolused aplenty, but here I sit in the 17s all but confirming my suspicion that I was low last night. You see, the liver is a great little organ which wants to help out when your blood sugar is low. For a person with a functioning pancreas, your liver helps out quite effectively. For me, not so much. If my suspicions are correct, my liver has released sugar to help out with the low I experienced in the middle of the night, only it’s done so way too late. So here I sit with a fuzzy tongue, a grumpy demeanour and wanting to have dinner but refraining, all the while chasing that 17. With any luck I’ll be okay before bed and not have to go through the cycle again!

Leave a Reply

